Thursday, May 19, 2022

Who in Congress and the Media Will be Courageous Enough to Condemn Tlaib?

I recently wrote about the Congressional resolution proposed by Rashida Tlaib that deems Israel's creation to be a "catastrophe." Coalition for Jewish Values (CJV), an organization representing over 2000 rabbis, has formally denounced Tlaib's resolution, calling it "openly antisemitic" and "an indelible stain on Congress." CJV Israel Regional Vice President Rabbi Steven Pruzansky declared, "Arab armies responded to Israel's founding with a call for genocide and have continued with repeated wars and horrific acts of terrorism for the sole purpose of killing Jews and destroying the world's only Jewish state. They proclaimed their intent in 1948 as a 'momentous massacre,' to kill all Jews in Israel as Hitler did in Germany, and what they call a 'Nakba' is that they fell 99% short of that obscene goal."

That last point bears repeating, and must be emphasized: anyone who speaks of Nakba is saying no more and no less than "I wish that the Arab armies had succeeded in killing every Jew in Israel in 1948, and I hope that the Arab armies and terrorist groups today succeed where their ancestors failed." To assert otherwise is to betray ignorance of historical reality.

So, the simple question is this: Who will speak out against Tlaib and her antisemitic colleagues?

Two more detailed questions are:

1) Do Jewish self-proclaimed "progressives" understand that if Tlaib and her allies succeed then their fates will be no different than the fates of the Jews who supported Soviet Communism only to be "purged" (killed) by Lenin and Stalin? 

2) Do non-Jewish self-proclaimed "progressives" understand that antisemitism is inextricably linked to broader hatreds, to totalitarianism, and to a set of ideologies that are incompatible with the values that form the basis of Western civilization?

The answers to these questions have implications that extend beyond just the fate of Israel and the fate of the Jewish people.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All contents Copyright (c) 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024 David Friedman. All rights reserved.